Hello! And welcome!

Hello everyone!

I hope to use this personal blog to share my everyday thoughts in hopes of finding a more refined topic one day. I have an array of interests and things that consume my life, like graduate school, music, knitting, reading, thinking of funny tweets to post, learning Portuguese, un-learning PortaƱol (Portuguese+Spanish), watching 30 Rock, etc…

There is a newer aspect of my life that I’d like to share with all of you because it’s one of the more dominant and frustrating things that I deal with daily. I promise, though, it’s not as dramatic as I’m making it sound with this intro. This past September I agreed to participate in a Daniel fast study on campus with the Exercise and Sports Science department concerning the overall affects it has on the human body. I committed to do the fast/diet plan for 6 months. If any of you have heard of this fast or done it, then you know how crazy this probably sounds. For those of you who are not familiar, it is a biblical fast from the book of Daniel that prohibits any kind of animal products (i.e. meat, dairy, eggs, etc), added sugar, preservatives, solid fats and alcohol. So, it’s basically a vegan diet, minus sugar, margarine and alcohol. This website has a ton of info on the fast if you’re more interested (or feel free to contact me about it).

That sounds hard, right?! Well, it is. Being someone who almost never cooked before and had the most unplanned and inconsistent eating schedule, it was a huge challenge initially (and still is). Granted, I had done the fast previously for spiritual purposes for a 3 week period, but making it a lifestyle has been extremely difficult. Although, the difficulty has been almost completely undermined by the positive results that I have seen. I’ve lost excess weight, I have much more energy, my blood pressure and cholesterol levels are wonderful, and I can cook! My mother is so proud and is now convinced I won’t be single for life.

I still sometime suck at planning out my meals ahead of time, but I use the excuse of taking 12 graduate hours a semester as an excuse. And working part-time for my assistantship. And being lazy. All in all, I am thankful for this experience, and I am begging God that some of these habits will remain in my lifestyle after I finish the study in March.

I hope you all enjoy reading my future posts, and I hope to be positive. When I am negative, I hope to just make fun of myself (which I’m very good at doing) because it makes light of those depressing moments that we all have and reminds me that my life isn’t ending over the fact that I can’t eat that Hershey kiss that has been staring me down for the past week at my office.

-Chelsea

Check out my About Me section to learn more, well, about me.

3 thoughts on “Hello! And welcome!

  1. That’s really interesting. I’m doing much the same thing, but as the Engine 2 diet, with info sessions at Whole Foods. It was developed by a firefighter in Texas when the firefighters there found out there their cholesterol scores were really high. I don’t have a problem with cholesterol, but I’m interested in seeing if this diet lives up to its hype. I’m glad to hear that you’re feeling positive effects- I hope I will, too!

  2. You have a great sense of humor! Good luck with your lifestyle change. I’m going to send this info to my dad. Forks Over Knives inspired him to adopt a vegan diet, so we’re constantly looking for new and interesting recipes.

Leave a Reply

